Fri. Nov 15th, 2019

Breaking News: President Mutharika kicks Chilima out of cabinet

By Desire Mtawali

Malawi President Peter Mutharika on Wednesday evening fired  his deputy Saulos Chilima out of the cabinet in the latest reshuffle.

The Vice-President broke ranks with the governing Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) on June 6 this year and declared he will challenge President Peter Mutharika in the presidential race in the May 21 2019 Tripartite Elections.

Since his declaration, Chilima has been sidelined from official engagements, including seeing off and welcoming the President, stirring debate among legal scholars on the position and status of the Vice-President.

President Mutharika has also removed Ana Kachikho, former Lands Minster replaced her with Jean Kalirani who was Gender Minister.

Mukumbwa is another casualty  while  new comers include Welani Chilenga who is now the deputy Natural Resources Minister while Charles Mchacha is the deputy minister of newly name Homeland Security (formerly  Home Affairs and Internal Security).

Kalekeni Kaphale is back into the cabinet as Attorney General (AG) replacing Charles Mhanga who according to Chief Secretary to The Government Lloyd Muhara, the latter resigned.

Mhango resignation comes a day after the former AG failed to block the United Transformation Movement (UTM) from being registered at the High Court.

Nicholas Dausi has been shifted from minister of information and communication technology to minister of Homeland security.

Henry Mussa is now minister of information and communications technology, Jean Kalilani has been appointed minister of Lands, Housing, and Urban development.

Francis Kasaila is now minister of industry, trade and tourism, Grace Obama Chiumia has been appointed as minister of Labour, Youths, Sports and public works, Cecilia Chazama to minister of Gender, Children, disability and social welfare.

Atupele Muluzi, Jappie Mhanga, Bright Msaka, Samuel Tembenu, Emmanuel Fabiano, Joseph Mwanamveka, Goodall Gondwe, Kondwani Nankhumwa and Aggrey Massi have retained their ministerial posts including health, Transport, Education, Constitutional Affairs, Foreign Affairs, Agriculture,  Finance, Local Government and Natural Resources respectively.

Leave a Reply