September 28, 2021

Dowa Council Elects Kambewa as Chairperson

The Full Council Meeting of the Dowa District Council on Wednesday, elected reporter turned councilor for Mponela ward in Dowa Central Constituency, Mayamiko Kambewa as its chairperson.

Kambewa has replaced Councilor Martin Luka Phiri of Msakambewa East ward in Dowa North Constituency who has been the chairperson of the council since his term in office expired a few months ago.

In the election, Kambewa garnered 15 votes beating Richard Kasanje of Dzoole North ward [Dowa Dowa North Constituency] who got 5 votes and in another election, Councilor Alfred Makalichi Chinkhadze of Chiwere North ward in Dowa East constituency, was elected Vice chairperson for the council, garnered 14 votes against 6 of George Wailes of Chakhaza South ward [Dowa North Constituency].

Dowa District Council has 14 ward councilors and seven [7] Members of Parliament [MPs] in seven Traditional Authority areas of Chakhaza, Dzoole, Kayembe, Mponela, Msakambewa, Mkukula and Chiwere.

Mayamiko Kambewa, at one time served as District Malawi Electoral Commissioner [MEC] Stringer for Ntchisi and Zodiak Broadcasting Service [ZBS] District reporter for Dowa before being elected as councilor for Mponela ward [Dowa Central constituency] in the May, 2019 Local Government Elections [LGE].

By Vincent Gunde

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: