June 19, 2021

DPP’s New Appointments in Parliament

The Democratic Progressive Party [DPP] has appointed Nkhotakota North Member of Parliament Hon. Martha Lunji MP as its Chief Whip in Parliament.

Hon. Lunji has become the first woman in the party to be trusted in that position in Parliament, replacing former Nkhata-bay central Member of Parliament Hon. Symon Vuwa Kaunda following the decision of the Supreme Court of Appeal to nullify the results of the May 2019 Parliamentary Elections as his victory was sponsored under the influence of Tippex, a correction fluid.

In a statement released by the Office of the Party’s Spokesperson dated 6th May 2021 and signed by Hon. Brown James Mpinganjira, the party has also appointed Hon. Nick Masebo, MP of Chitipa, as Deputy Chief Whip and Hon. Chimwemwe Chipungu, MP of Thyolo, as member of the Public Appointments Committee [PAC] of Parliament.

…”These appointments are with immediate effect and have already been communicated to the Speaker of National Assembly…,’’ reads the part of the statement.

However, media reports are indicating that Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Catherine Gotani Hara MP has rejected the appointments saying only a party Secretary General can send this communication to Parliament.

In another dramatic turn of events, the DPP Secretary General, Hon. Grezzeder Jeffrey, is reported to have written the Speaker of Parliament that Hon. Welani Chilenga, MP of Chitipa, is the new Chief Whip in Parliament and it remains to be seen on who will be the rightful Chief Whip in Parliament for the mighty DPP.

The mighty DPP has of late been hit by political squabbles one being the leader of opposition in Parliament currently been held by Hon. Kondwani Nankhumwa MP awaiting court verdict.

By Vincent Gunde

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: